Meet the Characters – Jessica Bradley from Everything is Fine by Gillian Harvey

A warm welcome to author, Gillian Harvey, who is interviewing Jessica Bradley from her debut novel, Everything is Fine.  ‘Everything is Fine’ was published by Orion in e-book, paperback and audiobook in May 2020. Let’s find out a bit more about the book.

Front cover

Blurb:

Jessica Bradley has it all: the perfect boyfriend; influential healthy-eating blog; successful PR company and wonderful daughter, Anna. Or at least that is what her thousands of followers believe.

The truth is, her boyfriend just broke up with her in four words on a post-it; her zest for healthy-eating has all but disappeared; her PR success is all reliant on her now not-so-honest online-life and she just got caught eating her daughter’s Coco-Pops.

So as they say: fake it ’til you make it. A few little white lies and phoney smiling selfies and Jess can keep up appearances. But when her real-life starts to spiral out of control how can Jess tell the truth from the lies? And will she be able to seize real happiness when it is right in front of her?

Hilarious, heart-warming and oh-so relatable, Everything Is Fine is perfect for fans of Louise Pentland, Anna Bell and Lindsey Kelk.

‘Just the escapism we need right now’ EVENING STANDARD

‘Hilarious and relatable’ WOMAN

‘A perfect weekend read’ GRAZIA

The book is currently on Kindle special for just 99p!

Buy from Amazon (e-book, audio or paperback): https://www.amazon.co.uk/Enviable-Life-Jessica-Bradley/dp/1409191869/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1570694580&sr=8-1-fkmr1

Buy from an independent bookshop: https://www.brookspinner.com/onlineorders

Buy from Waterstones: https://www.waterstones.com/book/everything-is-fine/gillian-harvey/9781409191865

Interview with Jessica Bradley, from Star PR

Why did you start your blog?

Like a lot of mums, I’d gained a bit of weight after having Anna (now 12) and I’d struggled to shift it over the years. So I thought starting a blog about my weight-loss journey and the different things I tried might help me to stick to a plan. It worked, and I was really into health and fitness for a while.

Your blog has a lot of followers – that must feel amazing!

Yes, it does. At least, most of the time. The truth is, I had a couple of lucky breaks. I posted a recipe that turned out to be a real hit (seaweed foam salad) and a celebrity retweeted one of my posts. The day I woke up to see I had followers in the thousands I was stunned!  And then my little PR business started getting a lot of calls from people who wanted me to help them with their social media too.

That’s wonderful – so how are things going?

Between you and me, I’m feeling a lot of pressure. My fitness regime was pretty intense, and what with being a mum and work and trying to keep juggling all the different parts of my life, I sometimes find I’m a bit too tired to go to the gym. And although I gave up chocolate for a month or so, it’s impossible longer term. Well, at least – for me. I’m not quite as fit as I used to be. I’m fine with that, but people expect me to be superfit, so I suppose I’m a bit embarrassed.

Still, you have the lovely Dave by your side!

Yes, my partner Dave is amazing. He’s been my rock. Well, sort of. He’s got rock-hard abs, at least.

This is off the record, but he hasn’t been around much lately.  We’ve kind of broken up. He just seemed to vanish from my life one morning.  I… well, it was a bit of a shock.

Oh! I didn’t see you mention it on the blog?

Well, that’s just it… (sorry – just checking – this is confidential, isn’t it? I mean, it’s not going online right?) Dave’s one of the most popular things about my blog.  He’s a proper fitness nut, and pretty easy on the eye. I suppose I’m just worried I’m not interesting enough without him.

Worried about losing followers, you mean?

Well, kind of. It’s more the business side of things. Having those followers made my business grow so quickly that I took on extra staff. What if I lose popularity and my clients quit? I don’t think I’m enough without Dave’s support – when I post a picture of him on the blog, the clicks go through the roof!

But you’re a bit of a star too – you’ve posted some amazing selfies!

Yes. A lot of them were taken a little while ago. I suppose things have started to … slip a bit. But I’m getting back on track! Honest!  And there’s no harm in using some throwback shots is there? After all, nobody wants to see their fitness guru looking a bit wobbly.

Anyway, at least work’s going well, right?

Yes! I’m very excited about some work by the sculptor and artist Hugo Henderson. He’s created some new work that’s exceptionally good.  It’ll be on display at the local gallery soon, and it’s already attracted a lot of press attention.

Brilliant – can you share a picture?

Do you mind if I don’t. It’s just… well, personal reasons. I suppose you’ll see it eventually. But – I’d rather not share it right now if that’s Ok.

Hang on, I recognise the name Hugo Henderson… isn’t that…?

Sigh. Yes, Hugo Henderson became known as #penisguy after an incident at the local library. Nothing illegal, strictly speaking. He just broke something off a sculpture – his sculpture – by mistake.

Why the hashtag? It sounds like a fairly minor incident – not something that would usually trend on Twitter

Well, the ‘item’ was three metres long.  And there was footage of him running on CCTV being chased by a security guard. That went viral, and you know how it is…

I see. Still, all publicity is good publicity, right?

So they tell me.

Recently, I’m not so sure.

What are your plans for the future?

I’m very excited about my new client, Robert, who’s written a book called Remembering Rainbows – all about embracing our inner child and finding happiness.

Most importantly though, I’m going to get the old Jessica back. After all, she was a part of me. Just a more enthusiastically fit part of me.

All I have to do is stop stealing Anna’s Coco Pops…

It sounds fun, doesn’t it? You can grab a copy here:

Amazon

Meet Gillian

smaller

Gillian Harvey is a freelance writer, author and mum of five young children currently living in Limousin, France.

www.gillianharvey.com

Twitter: @GillPlusFive

Instagram: @GillPlusFive

Facebook: @gharveyauthor

 

Thanks for dropping by to tell us about your book, Gillian. Wishing you many sales!


Twitter Header - Karen King

Sassy, heartwarming romances set in glorious locations: Amazon Author Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s