Friday Reads – The Guest by Lorraine Mace

My Friday Reads this week is the gripping debut psychological thriller, The Guest, by acclaimed crime author Lorraine Mace. So grab a cuppa, get comfy and let’s get chatting to Lorraine. 😊

YOUR PAST HAS COME KNOCKING. WILL YOU LET IT IN?

Lynda Blackthorn is still reeling from the tragic car crash that killed her family more than a year ago. Throwing herself into her volunteer charity work, she is trying to piece her life back together.

When she’s asked to be the face of the charity’s annual fundraiser, an appeal for volunteers on the local news brings old friend Sarah to her door – and the events of fourteen years ago crashing down around her.

As the two women reconnect, Lynda invites Sarah to stay in her guest bedroom. But soon strange things start happening and Lynda learns it might have been better to keep the door to the past firmly closed . . .

A gripping rollercoaster of a read about the darker side of friendship, with a shocking twist. Perfect for fans of Rona Halsall, K. L. Slater and Miranda Rijks.

Buy Links

Blackwell’s – https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/product/9781472283917

Waterstones – https://www.waterstones.com/book/9781472283917

WHSmith – https://www.whsmith.co.uk/products/the-guest/lorraine-mace/paperback/9781472283917.html

Amazon – https://amzn.to/3S2dzyy Hive – https://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Lorraine-Mace/The-Guest/26642765

Welcome to my blog, Lorraine. Have you always wanted to be a writer?

From about the age of 22 I wanted to write a novel, but hadn’t a clue how to go about it. My aim was to be the next Georgette Heyer, but as I would probably have been guilty of plagiarism, it’s just as well I waited until the grand old age of 49 before writing my first book – all my own work and NOT set in the Regency period. My first novel was written for middle grade children: Vlad the Inhaler, Hero in the Making. I have since written the next in the series: Vlad’s Quest, Hero at Large.

I have also written five novels in the D.I. Sterling series, which was a massive change from writing for children as the crime series has been described (quite rightly) as dark and gritty.

They certainly are dark and gritty! The Guest is a menacing and twisty read. What inspired you to write this book?

I found myself wondering how it would feel to be manipulated into offering someone a place of sanctuary, only to discover that the person who truly needs a place of safety is the host and not the guest.

Do you have a special place for writing?

I do! We have converted a bedroom into an office where I have a wonderfully long desk which enables me to spread out my notes, usually on scraps of paper. I try to keep it tidy, but it’s often a scene of absolute chaos while I am actually working. I always have to have a massive clean up at the end of each day.

Are you a pantster or a plotter?

I am a bit of both. I plan but while writing I find all sorts of new events take place that I hadn’t envisaged, which means going back to the beginning to slot in the new characters and their story arcs. I would say I am an organic plotter.

Is your writing ever inspired by your family or real life incidents?

Not inspired as such, but I have used real life events in the crime series, where appropriate.

What will you be writing next?

I am busy with the second standalone psychological thriller, also to be published by Headline in April 2024! After years of abuse, Sally escapes from her husband, only to fall into the clutches of an enemy she hadn’t known existed.

I am planning to pack it full of nail-biting suspense. The aim is to make it a fast paced, gripping psychological thriller.

It sounds fantastic, I cant wait to read it. What are your hobbies?

I am a keen (but slow) runner. Earlier this year I completed the Seville half marathon. The finishers’ medal is hanging in pride of place on the office wall. I am going to South Africa on holiday and while there will be taking part in the Two Oceans half marathon, running across the stunning Cape Peninsular between the Indian and Atlantic oceans.

Lovely to talk to you, Lorraine. Wishing you lots of success with your new book and future writing.

Meet Lorraine

Author bio

Born and raised in South East London, Lorraine lived and worked in South Africa, on the Island of Gozo, and in France, before settling on the Costa del Sol in Spain. She lives with her partner in a traditional Spanish village inland from the coast and enjoys sampling the regional dishes and ever-changing tapas in the local bars. Her knowledge of Spanish is expanding. To stop her waistline from doing the same, she runs five times a week.

Author links

Website: www.lorrainemace.com

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/LorraineMaceAuthor

Twitter handle: https://twitter.com/lomace Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/lorrainemace

Lorraine’s Books

The D.I. Sterling Series

Say Your Prayershttps://amzn.to/3lHtuX6

Rock-a-bye Babyhttps://amzn.to/3KgmeLU

Pins and Needleshttps://amzn.to/3YW9YEm

An Eye for an Eyehttps://amzn.to/3IueoNs

Love Me Tenderhttps://amzn.to/40YHBHC

Vlad the Inhaler – Hero Series

Vlad the Inhaler – Hero in the Makinghttps://amzn.to/3XCa0jU

Vlad’s Quest – Hero at Largehttps://amzn.to/3k0dOxw


Karen King – Writing about the light and dark of relationships.
Amazon Author Page: 
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Karen-King/e/B0034P6W7I
Website: 
https://karenkingauthor.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s