Friday Reads – Murder At The Charity Ball by Helena Dixon

It’s time for another Friday Read’s post and my featured book this week is the eleventh book in the Miss Underhay cozy mystery series, Murder at the Charity Ball by the amazing Helena Dixon. So grab youself a cuppa, get comfy and let’s get chatting to Helena. 😊

Kitty Underhay is dancing… with death.

Winter 1934. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a night off from wedding planning as she attends a charity ball at the home of Lady Eliza Foxley. She’s excited to see her father, roguish Edgar Underhay, who is also a guest in the house. But the evening of cocktails and waltzing turns into a dance macabre when Edgar finds their lively, fun-loving hostess dead, strangled by her own silk stocking.

Who has made this uncharitable donation to the evening’s entertainments? When suspicion falls on Edgar and he is arrested for murder, Kitty has to act fast if she doesn’t want her father walking her down the aisle in shackles. Together with her fiancé Matthew, they vow to clear Edgar’s name and discover who used hosiery to commit homicide.

Lady Eliza’s widowed sister is the main beneficiary of her will, but before Kitty and Matt can question her, she is struck down by a severe case of poisoning. Time is running out for Kitty to solve this case and make it to the church on time. But with a devious killer on the loose, will she end up leaving as a newlywed, or newly dead…?

An absolutely addictive and unputdownable Golden Age cosy murder mystery full of twists! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Readers love the Miss Underhay mysteries:

‘Nobody does tension and crime thriller writing quite like she does. Some books are guilty pleasures, she’s guilty of being a superb writer (and an inspiration).’ Rob Rinder

Buy Link: https://t.co/Nd9wThVIj0

Welcome to my blog, Helena. Can you tell us a bit about your writing life, and the Miss Underhay series?

For several years I was based in the Black Country, a small, industrialised area with a rich heritage in the heart of the UK. I spent at least six months of the year travelling back and forth to the coast of South Devon where we have a touring caravan. My writing world is set in that area, during the 1930’s, around Dartmouth, Kingswear, Paignton and Torquay and we had been looking to relocate there for quite a few years.

The time was finally right, and we put our house up for sale and along came the pandemic. My research trips were halted for a time When they could resume several of the places that I had needed to visit were off-limits. meaning I had to juggle the planned order of my contracted books.

I usually wrote in my office when at my home in the Black Country and in my caravan while I was away. After the move, once the house renovations were done the plan was to use my caravan as my main office. In the house itself we created a writing nook in the living room.

We hit another big bump in the road when three months after we moved the ferocious storms in February last year brought down the gable end of our house. This meant we had to move out for ten weeks and then had another three months of builders putting everything back together.

I was so grateful to our insurers, our incredible builders and my Torbay friends who all rallied around to help us. Now, I’m finally reinstalled in the house and the caravan is back to its office job. And, my writing nook is almost finished! Just in time for the release of book 11.

Thank goodness for that, Helena! What an upheaval. Your writing nook looks fab. Your Miss Underhay books are so popular, can you tell us the order they a re published?

Of course. The Miss Underhay series starts with

Book 1, Murder at The Dolphin Hotel,

Book 2, Murder at Enderley Hall,

Book 3, Murder at the Playhouse,

Book 4, Murder on the Dance Floor,

Book 5, Murder in the Bell Tower,

Book 6, Murder at Elm House

Book 7, Murder at the Wedding.

Book 8, Murder In First Class.

Book 9, Murder at the Country Club.

Book 10, Murder on Board.

Book 11, Murder at the Charity Ball.

About Helena

Helena (Nell) Dixon splits her time between the Black Country and Devon. Married to the same man for over thirty five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010 as Nell Dixon. She now writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime.

Helena enjoys hearing from readers and you can read her news and contact her via her website at http://www.nelldixon.com visit her blog at http://www.nelldixonrw.blogspot.com find her on Twitter @NellDixon and friend her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nell-Dixon/228642037151856

Thanks so much for dropping by to talk to us today, Helena. ☺️ Wishing you many sales!


Karen King – Writing about the light and dark of relationships.
Amazon Author Page: 
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Karen-King/e/B0034P6W7I
Website: 
https://karenkingauthor.com/
 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s