Meet the Characters – Camilla from The Cosy Little Cupcake Van by Annette Hannah

This week we’re going to meet Camilla, the star of Annette Hannah’s gorgeous romance, The Cosy Little Cupcake Van. Let’s find out a bit about the book first.

Blurb

Camilla’s delicious cakes are the talk of her little village. If you need a perfectly iced mouthful of joy, Camilla ‘Cupcake’ is your woman. But after losing her mother, she finds her home and her business in jeopardy. She needs a little helping hand…

Thankfully her friends are always there for her, and when she is given an old ice cream van, Camilla’s dream of a cupcake delivery service is born. Now she can bring happiness – and buttercream frosting – to the whole town.

But when her ex Blake appears back on her doorstep, Camilla must decide if she can trust him again or if her heart might belong to someone else…

Bursting with romance and sprinkled with humour, this is a deliciously feel-good story about one woman putting her life back together, one cupcake at a time. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Ali McNamara and Rebecca Raisin!

Buy links:

Amazon UK

Amazon  US

Amazon Spain

Readers are loving The Cosy Little Cupcake Van!

‘A charming, heart-warming romance with a serious feel-good factor’ Helen J Rolfe

‘Brimming with friendship and romance, this lovely book will charm your heart’ Milly Johnson on Wedding Bells at the Signal Box Cafe

‘A wonderfully uplifting story where friendship and the idea that new beginnings are possible is the overriding message throughout’ Brook Cottage Books

‘Essentially, this is the warm hug we all need right now! A gorgeous, uplifting story that leaves you feeling you can do whatever you want to!’ Bookish Lara

‘The Cosy Little Cupcake Van is a wonderfully uplifting and comforting read, written by a very talented author’ My Reading Corner

‘Soothing, comforting and oh so enjoyable. I loved it and think some of those well-established, award-winning romantic fiction novelists need to look out. Annette Hannah is after their crowns’ Linda’s Book Bag

‘Uplifting, positive and absolutely charming… the literary equivalent of comfort food’ The Curious Ginger Cat

Now let’s move onto Annette’s interview with Camilla from The Cosy Little Cupcake Van

Auntie Edie is quite a character who says it like it is, what does she mean to you?

Quite simply she is my rock. They say that friends are the family we choose for ourselves, and she certainly fits into that category. She helped my mum out a lot when we first moved into the house over the road from her when I was small, and she quickly moved up the ranks from neighbour to friend and Auntie. After losing my mum I felt like I’d lost everything, but my Auntie Edie was my one constant, and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

You seem to get on really well despite the huge age difference, why do you think that is?

I don’t think there is an age limit on friendships, older people have such a lot of wonderful experience to pass on and when Auntie Edie and I get together we know we can cry on each other’s shoulders or have a belly laugh or even fancy the same man. She’s hilarious and such wonderful company but she also doesn’t let me wallow and feel sorry for myself. We are great for each other because I knew her late husband and she knew my late mum and together we can keep their memories alive.

How did it feel when you saw the old ice cream van for the first time?

I can’t explain the feeling I got when I saw it in the car graveyard, I was drawn to it as if by magic and it made my heart sing. To some people it looked like a rusty old ice cream van but to me I saw hope and a chance for me to start again after losing my mum, my home and my car. I desperately needed transport and I’d always wanted a cupcake van and Cora (as I called her) was the perfect solution. She was hard work to do up but so satisfying and I had lots of fabulous help from my friends.

Tell us about your friends.

My friends have been amazing, Lucy and her Grandad had renovated an old railway signal box and when I was down on my luck, she gave me a job there to get me back on my feet. She was also so patient with me when I let her down over making wedding cakes, my confidence was at an all-time low. Gracie and Carrie and lovely Ron who owned the car showroom where I got Cora from have all played a huge part in getting me started again.

Are there any love interests for you in the book?

(Blushes) Well I meet a lovely guy named Ged who shows me what it’s really like to be homeless for people who don’t have friends like mine to give them a helping hand. He’s a gorgeous Irish man who didn’t have the easiest start in life but he’s now got himself sorted. He’s not into commitment but I imagine he’d be lots of fun to hang out with for a while. Then there’s Blake, a very sexy Canadian, he was the love of my life, but he left me ten years earlier under tragic circumstances. I just don’t know if I could ever trust him again, but it doesn’t look like I need to worry about that as he’s wearing a wedding ring.

You have made some amazing cakes, which ones stand out the most?

I made a replica of one of the quaintest little shops I’ve ever seen. It’s right in Market square and is called ‘Odds and Sods’ which is a funny name but whatever you’re looking for you can guarantee that the owners Mr and Mrs Ives will find it for you. It’s gorgeous with black oak beams and olde worlde, toy shop style windows. That’s probably the most intricate one I’ve ever made, and I also made one for their daughter Rosie. She owns a café boat called Serendipity on the water and she makes the best scones in the world, they’re amazing and she was delighted with her replica cake. The funniest cupcakes I made would have to be the erotic ones I made for a hen party, Lucy and I had a good old giggle over them.

Where is your happy place?

I actually have two happy places, the first is Auntie Edie’s house, because I no longer have my mum’s house, hers is the place I can remember my mum the most. We used to have afternoon tea with Auntie Edie and I would play with her ornaments which were in the shape of animals and her pet parrots, the Liver birds would land on my head. The other place is Cupcake Cottage, it has a thatched roof with a little chimney on the top and from the outside it actually looks like a cupcake. It’s where I became independent and restarted my business with fresh hope and a fresh outlook on life.

Meet Annette

Author Bio:

Annette Hannah is a Liver Bird who relocated to leafy Hertfordshire in the 80’s and now lives near a river with her husband, two of their three grown up children and a crazy black cocker spaniel. She writes Romantic comedies in settings inspired by the beautiful countryside around her and always with a nod to her hometown.

She worked in Marketing for many years as a qualified Marketeer which she loved as it tapped into her creative side.

As an avid reader, she began to review the books she read, became a book blogger and eventually plucked up the courage to fulfil her life long dream of writing a book.

For four years she was a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s new writers’ scheme, during which time she wrote a book a year.

After signing a two book deal with Orion Dash in 2020 she graduated to full member of the organisation and is also their Press Officer.

She loves long walks along the river, travelling to far flung places and spending time with her friends and family.

You can follow her on

twitter @annettehannah

http://www.sincerelybookangels.blogspot.com

http://www.annettehannah.com

Lovely to talk to you and Camilla, Annette. I hope your book flies.


Karen King – Writing about the light and dark of relationships.

Amazon Author Page: https://tinyurl.com/y2q5audb

Website: http://www.karenking.net/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s