Meet the Characters – Megan from Her Best Friend’s Lie by Laura Wolfe

It’s time for another Meet the Characters post again, and this week my guest author is Laura Wolfe. Laura is sharing an interview between her character Megan and her co-worker, from her latest thriller, Her Best Friend’s Lie. Let’s check out the cover and blurb first.

You can always trust your closest friends. Can’t you?

This trip was a chance to reconnect away from our busy lives. The five of us used to be so close—going right back to our college days, when we shared a rickety house and all our favorite clothes, as well as every high and low of our lives—but that was then.

Now, the thought of three days in a small cabin far from anywhere, surrounded only by water and trees, with my four oldest friends makes my stomach sink and my hands sweat. Because if they knew what I’d done—the betrayals I’ve committed—they’d never forgive me. And neither would you.

The straight-A student, the sports star with a bright future ahead of her, the sheltered girl who blossomed away from her family and the hippie child who was going to save the world. Their lives have turned out so differently to how we pictured all those years ago. I try not to think about why.

But then danger strikes, and too late I discover I’m not the only one keeping secrets. And I wonder: who will go furthest to keep the truth hidden?

Gripping, addictive and totally unputdownable, Her Best Friend’s Lie will have you reading late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainThe Woman in the Window and Big Little Lies.

“A fantastic thriller full of suspense, dark secrets, and the terrifying reality that we may not know our friends as well as we think we do! I could not put this book down as I was so curious and anxious to find out what was going on at that cabin. I thought I had guessed who the culprit was but I was completely wrong.” Netgalley Reviewer⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A captivating thriller with a plot that unwinds at a dizzying pace. I sat down to read it and didn’t move until I finished. It was that good.” Netgalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Every chapter seemed to end on a cliffer… I completely devoured it… I would love to see this one turned into a movie!” Netgalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“FINALLY! A thriller that’s…well…a thriller! This book definitely had me on the edge of my seat. I read it in two days. I could not put it down!”  Netgalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Now let’s move onto the Questions from Megan’s Co-worker

I stepped into the hallway of the Milwaukee Family Clinic, happy to run into my co-worker. “Hi, Megan. I saw on the schedule that you’re taking off tomorrow and Friday. Doing something fun?”

Megan tucked her sandy-brown hair behind her ear, her slim frame blocking my path. “I’m meeting up with some college friends for a girls’ weekend.” She raised her eyebrows. “It’s our fortieth birthday celebration.”

“Ooh. Sounds fun.” I offered a sly grin. “You don’t look a day over thirty-nine.”

Megan bit her lip, not responding.

“Is something wrong?”

“Oh, no.” She forced a smile and shifted her position. “It’s just that my friends and I haven’t seen each other in five years. And four nights is a long time to be away from my kids. But I’m sure everything will be fine once we get there.”

”I bet Andrew doesn’t mind having a weekend alone with your cute kids.” I’d only met Megan’s husband a few times, but he seemed like a good guy.

“He doesn’t mind at all.”

“Where are you and your friends going?”

“We found a great deal on a rental cabin up in the north woods, about a five-hour drive from here. It almost seems too good to be true. The cabin is on a private lake and surrounded by a nature preserve. Jenna, lives in New York City, and she wanted to be off the grid for a few days. Plus, it was cheap, and my other friend, Charlotte, didn’t want to spend too much.”

“Are you excited to see your college friends again?”

Megan nodded. “I’m most excited to see Sam. She was my roommate freshman year, and she’s super successful, running her own online prescription company in Denver. And Kaitlyn is such a good person with her charity work. We all used to be jealous of her because she’s drop-dead gorgeous, but we’re over that now.” Megan paused, a shadow passing over her face. “Not everyone gets along, though.”

“Oh. Why not?”

“Well, I love Jenna. She has a strong personality which makes her a great lawyer, but she and Charlotte come from such different backgrounds. I don’t think those two would be friends if it weren’t for the rest of us.” Megan crossed her arms in front of her. “And there’s some other stuff that happened a long time ago. I made such bad decisions in my twenties.”

“Doesn’t everyone?”

Megan dipped her chin. “I guess.”

I leaned forward, hoping Megan would spill some dirt about whatever had happened in her college days, but she only stared at the wall, a faraway look glazing her eyes. A tiny muscle pulsed in her jaw as she picked at her thumbnail.

“What are you going to do while you’re at the cabin?” I asked, attempting to change to a happier subject.

Megan blinked out of her trance, snapping her attention back to me. “There probably won’t be much to do other than go hiking and dip our toes in the lake. Last time, we met at Kaitlyn’s house in the suburbs and sat around talking and drinking lots of wine.” She picked her nail again. Her phone buzzed, and she flinched, flashing a hurried glance at the incoming text. 

“Are you nervous about something?”

“What? No.” Megan shook her head, hands dropping to her sides. “I must have had too much coffee this morning.”

I glanced at the clock at the end of the hallway. It was two minutes before noon. “Do you want to grab lunch with me?”

“I can’t. Sorry. I already have lunch plans with another friend, and I don’t want to be late.”

“Okay. Enjoy your weekend if I don’t see you.” I watched Megan scurry down the corridor and out the door. She and I used to eat lunch together a few times a week, but we didn’t anymore because she always had plans with some mysterious person. I wondered who she was so anxious to meet and why she was so nervous about spending a weekend with her friends.

Meet Laura

Author Bio:

Laura Wolfe is an award-winning author who enjoys writing dark and twisty tales of suspense. Her fascination with “things that go bump in the night” probably stems from having watched too many scary movies when she was younger. She is a graduate of the University of Michigan and DePaul University College of Law. When she’s not writing or reading, Laura can be found playing backyard sports with her kids, cooking (and eating!) vegetarian food, hiking through local nature areas with her husband, or doting on her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Learn more at:  www.LauraWolfeBooks.com

Universal Buy Link:  http://getbook.at/HerBestFriendsLie


Karen King – Writing about the light and dark of relationships.

Amazon Author Page: https://tinyurl.com/y2q5audb

Website: http://www.karenking.net/

2 thoughts on “Meet the Characters – Megan from Her Best Friend’s Lie by Laura Wolfe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s