Meet the Characters – Eva from The Child on Platform One by Gill Thompson

This week I’m delighted to welcome author Gill Thompson, author of the historical novel, The Child from Platform One. Gill is interviewing Eva, the protagonist of the novel. Let’s take a look at the cover and blurb first.

The_Child_on_Platform_One_b_pb_3.indd

Inspired by the children who escaped the Holocaust. Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris and My Name is Eva by Suzanne Goldring.

TO SAVE HER CHILD, A MOTHER MUST MAKE AN IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away – even if it means never seeing her again.

But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home.

Then when her son enlists in the RAF, Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down…

Heartrending. Riveting. Definitely on my list of Ten Best Books of 2019‘ Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker’s Daughter

‘The characters and their moving stories will haunt you long after you finish the last page’ Shirley Dickson, author of The Orphan Sisters

Buy link

Amazon

Now let’s move onto Gill’s interview with Eva Kolischer (nee Novak).

 Tell me about your childhood:

 Well I was very happy in my own way, although I think my mother worried I didn’t have a normal childhood. You see I would rarely go outside to play with other children and I didn’t socialise much either. Every spare hour I had I played the piano. I knew it was the only way I could achieve my ambition: to play at concert level. I was prepared to sacrifice almost everything to be the best musician I possibly could. I was probably a very boring, earnest child but I would like to think the discipline I acquired stood me in good stead for the challenges that came along later.

 What are your greatest strengths?

 Um…stoicism; the ability to remove myself mentally from a tough situation and transport myself somewhere beautiful and safe – usually through music; optimism; concern for the welfare of others…

And your weaknesses?

I can be very headstrong. People say I’m determined, but sometimes that determination can hurt people. I sometimes do what I think is the right thing without consulting others. Like when I decided to put my daughter on a Kindertransport train in 1939…

Do you have any regrets in life?

I had to make some hard decisions at a young age but I think I made the right ones. I bitterly regret the war though. If it hadn’t have been for that madman Hitler, I might have achieved my dreams of being a concert pianist.

Would you consider yourself to be a romantic person?

I was still a teenager when the terrible thing that changed my life occurred. At that stage I was still very naïve about boys: I wanted to be courted and wooed, to be given red roses and sung to in the moonlight. I think most young girls are idealistic in that way, but music made me even more so. I was brought up believing in the perfect relationships that are often depicted in song. But of course real life isn’t like that. I found out the hard way.

What was your marriage like?

Not at all as I imagined. Josef was a lot older than me and had been married before. He was a terrible hypochondriac too – always fussing about getting a cold. I don’t know if all men are like that, but he used to drive me mad. He was a good man though, and although I don’t think I was ever ‘in love’ with him, I certainly grew to love him by the end.

What do you consider to be your greatest legacy?

I like to think my musical talents have been passed down through my family.

*

Readers around the world adore THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE:

‘OH MY HEART! Moved me deep from within. I cannot recommend it enough’ The Writing Garnet

‘Such a gorgeous book. I loved and believed in all the characters, and thoroughly enjoyed their stories. Incredibly researched, it felt authentic. And the ending moved me to tears *****’

‘OMG What an incredible read. It was so emotional about a Jewish girl. I was engrossed from start to finish and would highly recommend this book *****’

‘This book was incredible… The story is realistic and believable. Once you start reading you will not want to stop *****’

*

It sound a heartrending story, doesn’t it? If you want to read the book you can grab a copy here:

Hive 

Amazon 

Apple

Google

Kobo

Ebooks

Meet Gill

Gill-head-and-shoulders

Gill Thompson began her working life as a teacher and has spent nearly forty years at the chalk face. More recently she has also become an author. Her debut novel The Oceans Between Us was published by Headline in March 2019 and her new novel, The Child on Platform One, came out this March. She lives with her family in West Sussex and hosts a creative writing site at: www.wordkindling.co.uk

You can contact Gill here:

Twitter: @wordkindling

Facebook: WordKindling

Thanks for dropping by to tell us about your fantastic book, Gill. 


Twitter Header - Karen King

Sassy, heartwarming romances set in glorious locations: Amazon Author Page

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s